PGA Tour stud Paul Casey nearly had one less trophy on his mantle this week … and it’s all ’cause he struck a bug with his golf ball on a routine putt!!
Here’s the deal … Casey was playing in the European Tour’s Porsche European Open in Germany last week — when he lined up for a short putt on one of the holes.
Casey pulled back his club, struck the golf ball … and he sank the shot no problem!
BUT … turns out, there was a small issue — video replay showed Casey’s ball had struck a tiny bug on its way to the hole.
And — as
every no golfer knows — hitting a bug on the green is giant no-no … and could have resulted in a huge penalty!!!
Per golf rules, when a ball hits a person, animal (including bugs!) or movable obstruction on the green, the stroke is NOT supposed to count.
But, since Casey did not KNOWINGLY hit the little critter … tournament officials let it slide — and the 42-year-old ended up winning the event by two strokes.
As for the bug, we’re pretty sure it survived the brutal assault.